Skip to content
Hertfordshire Counts — Hertfordshire, in numbers.Local help →

Hertfordshire, in numbers

People and living standards

Hertfordshire County Council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Hertfordshire County Council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 984,323 in 1991 to 1,239,398 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Hertfordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 1,002,650 people in 1996; 1,239,398 people in 2025. 23.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Hertfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991984,323
1992988,863
1993991,088
1994995,417
1995999,787
19961,002,650
19971,009,700
19981,016,401
19991,024,006
20001,029,817
20011,035,523
20021,040,387
20031,045,337
20041,047,366
20051,055,483
20061,063,202
20071,072,954
20081,085,434
20091,096,599
20101,107,641
20111,119,824
20121,131,536
20131,143,681
20141,156,321
20151,167,308
20161,180,234
20171,185,014
20181,188,182
20191,193,394
20201,198,052
20211,200,899
20221,206,101
20231,220,700
20241,233,983
20251,239,398
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Hertfordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 208,695 people in 1996; 241,476 people in 2025. 15.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Hertfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991199,794
1992202,161
1993204,150
1994206,828
1995208,131
1996208,695
1997210,098
1998211,787
1999213,836
2000214,317
2001214,692
2002215,080
2003215,399
2004215,261
2005215,400
2006215,677
2007216,197
2008218,137
2009219,860
2010221,600
2011224,002
2012227,028
2013229,403
2014232,370
2015234,757
2016237,418
2017238,891
2018239,649
2019240,258
2020240,399
2021239,291
2022240,796
2023242,742
2024242,806
2025241,476
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Hertfordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 643,980 people in 1996; 776,617 people in 2025. 20.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Hertfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991642,217
1992642,862
1993641,606
1994641,669
1995643,175
1996643,980
1997648,258
1998652,025
1999656,183
2000660,254
2001664,060
2002667,380
2003670,808
2004672,166
2005678,908
2006686,251
2007694,183
2008701,815
2009708,136
2010714,260
2011720,473
2012722,685
2013728,028
2014733,512
2015739,400
2016747,063
2017748,583
2018749,320
2019751,154
2020754,203
2021756,034
2022756,167
2023765,340
2024774,106
2025776,617
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Hertfordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 149,975 people in 1996; 221,305 people in 2025. 47.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Hertfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991142,312
1992143,840
1993145,332
1994146,920
1995148,481
1996149,975
1997151,344
1998152,589
1999153,987
2000155,246
2001156,771
2002157,927
2003159,130
2004159,939
2005161,175
2006161,274
2007162,574
2008165,482
2009168,603
2010171,781
2011175,349
2012181,823
2013186,250
2014190,439
2015193,151
2016195,753
2017197,540
2018199,213
2019201,982
2020203,450
2021205,574
2022209,138
2023212,618
2024217,071
2025221,305
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 1,198,798 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hertfordshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh103,6688.6%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African44,8943.7%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups45,1263.8%
White980,06181.8%
Other ethnic group25,0492.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 1,116,062 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hertfordshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White977,49587.6%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups27,4972.5%
Asian/Asian British72,5816.5%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British31,4012.8%
Other ethnic group7,0880.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 1,033,977 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Hertfordshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White968,64393.7%
Mixed14,0571.4%
Asian/Asian British30,9093%
Black/Black British11,8661.1%
Chinese/Other8,5020.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 23.6% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Hertfordshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £13,013.77 per person in 1997; £32,080.8 per person in 2024. 146.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Hertfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199713,013.77
199813,470.08
199913,756.76
200014,723
200115,535.15
200215,847.95
200316,110.59
200416,541.5
200517,052.86
200617,855.5
200718,856.35
200819,243.92
200919,739.21
201019,677.86
201119,676.31
201220,487.2
201321,552.34
201422,421.11
201523,829.19
201623,920.68
201724,414.06
201825,365.64
201926,041.69
202025,524.77
202126,938.98
202228,502.15
202330,255.92
202432,080.8
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Hertfordshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 22.66% in 1997; 23.55% in 2024. 0.9 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Hertfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199722.66
199824.41
199921.61
200023.69
200125.58
200225.26
200323.59
200421.88
200521.3
200621.93
200722.88
200822.19
200923.28
201021.84
201120.76
201221.3
201323.05
201423.99
201525.26
201624.22
201723.92
201824.28
201923.59
202021.6
202123.32
202224.12
202323.74
202423.55
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

62.4%

21 March 2021 · Hertfordshire County Council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

14.3%

21 March 2021 · Hertfordshire County Council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

14.7%

21 March 2021 · Hertfordshire County Council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.8%

21 March 2021 · Hertfordshire County Council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£469,000

July 2026 · Hertfordshire County Council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.