Skip to content
Hertfordshire Counts — Hertfordshire, in numbers.Local help →

Hertfordshire, in numbers

Projects

Hertfordshire County Council area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

3 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.

Croxley, Watford and the Hemel Hempstead–Harlow corridor

Proposed east–west rapid transit

The council is developing a new passenger transport network connecting towns and rail routes.

Options and business-case development; an operating network is not established · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Hertfordshire County Council

What the source says: The council identifies difficult east–west travel and a preferred vehicle approach. The proposal and expected benefits are not delivered services.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Improving passenger transport: Hertfordshire Essex Rapid Transit →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Test better east–west journeys →

Keep preferred designs separate from funded services →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

How to track delivery →

Hemel Hempstead

The Collett School expansion

The council reports approval to add specialist places at The Collett School.

Expansion approved; places currently staffed and available not verified · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Hertfordshire County Council

What the source says: The council warns that newly created places can already be assigned to children waiting. A new-place total is not a count of available vacancies.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Increasing specialist provision and school places in Hertfordshire →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Show need as well as new-place totals →

Keep preferred designs separate from funded services →

How to track delivery →

Westfield in Berkhamsted, Shepherd in Rickmansworth and Morgans in Hertford

Three specialist units opened in mainstream schools

New units provide smaller supported learning environments on mainstream school sites.

September 2026 openings explicitly reported · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Hertfordshire County Council

What the source says: The county names the three September openings and keeps proposed later units separate. Places are allocated through individual education and care plans.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Specialist provision and units →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Build on the new school units →

How to track delivery →

Work in each district

Borough of Broxbourne

Broxbourne →

Broxbourne has completed public-space improvements in Waltham Cross and Grundy Park. Further leisure investment is still being prepared. Rising temporary-housing costs show why visible improvements and everyday support need to be tracked separately.

£412,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · Broxbourne local authority area

10 wards · 4 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →

Dacorum Borough Council

Dacorum →

Dacorum is exploring joined-up health services while managing practical housing repairs and shared spaces. Hemel’s proposed health campus is still an options exercise. At St Margarets Way, installed charging equipment sits alongside unresolved play-space proposals and drainage-maintenance questions.

£459,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · Dacorum local authority area

25 wards · 3 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →

Hertsmere Borough Council

Hertsmere →

Hertsmere’s programme reaches several distinct communities: a completed kitchen upgrade in Potters Bar, social homes under construction in Borehamwood and a proposed redevelopment in Bushey. The question is what each place can use now, and which benefits still depend on approval or construction.

£549,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · Hertsmere local authority area

16 wards · 3 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →

North Hertfordshire District Council

North Hertfordshire →

North Hertfordshire’s investment reaches Royston, Hitchin and Letchworth as well as smaller communities. Swimming and green-space budgets sit alongside an unresolved town-centre redevelopment and continued housing-support needs. Budget approval is shown separately from what has actually opened.

£419,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · North Hertfordshire local authority area

25 wards · 4 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →

Three Rivers District Council

Three Rivers →

Three Rivers combines renewed local play facilities with a larger nature and access project at the Aquadrome. Ebury play area is open again. Other improvements depend on funding, safe management of contaminated land and practical delivery by local clubs.

£591,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · Three Rivers local authority area

13 wards · 3 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →

Watford Borough Council

Watford →

Watford’s Riverwell area has delivered homes and infrastructure, with more phases still ahead. Elsewhere, an allotment extension responds to demand for growing space and businesses have voted for a funded Clarendon-area programme. Industrial land cleanup and long-term upkeep remain important tests of delivery.

£404,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · Watford local authority area

12 wards · 4 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →

St Albans City and District Council

St Albans →

Jubilee Square has delivered homes in St Albans. The Local Plan and home-energy support cover the wider district. Existing homes, future development and grant-funded improvements are reported separately.

£647,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · St Albans local authority area

20 wards · 3 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →

Welwyn Hatfield Council

Welwyn Hatfield →

Welwyn Hatfield has completed homes at One Town Centre while further Hatfield redevelopment is being designed. In Welwyn Garden City, Howlands House is a separate temporary-housing proposal. Its revised plans respond to neighbours, but replacement accommodation is not yet available.

£449,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · Welwyn Hatfield local authority area

16 wards · 3 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →

East Hertfordshire District Council

East Hertfordshire →

East Hertfordshire shows both delivery and setbacks. New social-rent homes are occupied in Bishop’s Stortford and the Hertford–Ware art trail is complete. But the submitted Old River Lane redevelopment is no longer financially viable, so its proposed homes and public space remain uncertain.

£457,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · East Hertfordshire local authority area

26 wards · 3 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →

Stevenage Borough Council

Stevenage →

Stevenage is renewing major sports facilities and creating a new local PlayZone, while a larger station-area scheme remains dependent on funding. Everyday support also matters: the rough-sleeper service offers practical help and a small supported-housing programme alongside the major construction plans.

£316,000 · Average home priceJuly 2026 · Stevenage local authority area

13 wards · 4 reviewed project records

Explore the neighbourhoods →