Skip to content
Hertfordshire Counts — Hertfordshire, in numbers.Local help →

Broxbourne, in numbers

People and living standards: Broxbourne

Broxbourne local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Broxbourne local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 81,723 in 1991 to 103,130 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Broxbourne council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 82,146 people in 1996; 103,130 people in 2025. 25.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Broxbourne council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199181,723
199282,242
199382,351
199482,434
199582,413
199682,146
199782,081
199883,081
199984,765
200086,104
200187,203
200287,700
200387,817
200487,805
200588,800
200689,684
200790,833
200891,630
200992,395
201093,085
201193,702
201294,990
201395,712
201496,776
201597,275
201698,153
201798,096
201898,317
201998,869
202099,311
202199,142
202299,053
2023100,744
2024101,886
2025103,130
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Broxbourne council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 16,760 people in 1996; 20,292 people in 2025. 21.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Broxbourne council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199116,533
199216,668
199316,733
199416,812
199516,817
199616,760
199716,820
199817,037
199917,619
200017,919
200118,153
200218,226
200318,247
200418,044
200518,126
200618,220
200718,378
200818,515
200918,568
201018,688
201118,758
201219,095
201319,131
201419,209
201519,271
201619,434
201719,459
201819,465
201919,713
202019,771
202119,617
202219,636
202320,082
202420,202
202520,292
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Broxbourne council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 53,844 people in 1996; 64,787 people in 2025. 20.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Broxbourne council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199154,767
199254,957
199354,774
199454,559
199554,289
199653,844
199753,454
199853,979
199954,882
200055,573
200156,207
200256,463
200356,334
200456,300
200557,050
200657,682
200758,453
200858,806
200959,200
201059,350
201159,546
201259,867
201360,176
201460,798
201561,053
201661,548
201761,400
201861,604
201961,807
202062,221
202162,246
202262,013
202363,126
202463,935
202564,787
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Broxbourne council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 11,542 people in 1996; 18,051 people in 2025. 56.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Broxbourne council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199110,423
199210,617
199310,844
199411,063
199511,307
199611,542
199711,807
199812,065
199912,264
200012,612
200112,843
200213,011
200313,236
200413,461
200513,624
200613,782
200714,002
200814,309
200914,627
201015,047
201115,398
201216,028
201316,405
201416,769
201516,951
201617,171
201717,237
201817,248
201917,349
202017,319
202117,279
202217,404
202317,536
202417,749
202518,051
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 99,007 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Broxbourne · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh3,6573.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African6,5886.7%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,9304%
White80,30181.1%
Other ethnic group4,5314.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 93,609 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Broxbourne · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White84,53090.3%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,1412.3%
Asian/Asian British2,1902.3%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3,9574.2%
Other ethnic group7910.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 87,054 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Broxbourne · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White83,66896.1%
Mixed9091%
Asian/Asian British1,0291.2%
Black/Black British1,0211.2%
Chinese/Other4270.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 2% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Broxbourne council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,299 per person in 1997; £26,495 per person in 2024. 134.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Broxbourne council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,299
199811,646
199911,755
200012,410
200113,043
200213,365
200313,658
200413,970
200514,327
200614,956
200715,650
200816,022
200916,866
201016,882
201116,976
201217,661
201318,533
201419,130
201520,312
201620,649
201721,226
201821,761
201922,422
202022,005
202122,901
202224,208
202325,134
202426,495
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Broxbourne council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 6.5% in 1997; 2% in 2024. 4.5 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Broxbourne council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19976.5
19987.6
19993.9
20004.3
20015.4
20025.6
20034.8
20042.9
20051.9
20062.1
20072
20081.7
20095.3
20104.5
20114.2
20124.6
20135.8
20145.8
20156.8
20167.2
20177.7
20186.6
20196.4
20204.8
20214.8
20225.4
20232.8
20242
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

60.8%

21 March 2021 · Broxbourne local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

18.4%

21 March 2021 · Broxbourne local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

20.8%

21 March 2021 · Broxbourne local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.4%

21 March 2021 · Broxbourne local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£412,000

July 2026 · Broxbourne local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,685

August 2026 · Broxbourne local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.