Skip to content
Hertfordshire Counts — Hertfordshire, in numbers.Local help →

North Hertfordshire, in numbers

People and living standards: North Hertfordshire

North Hertfordshire local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

North Hertfordshire local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 112,355 in 1991 to 137,365 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

North Hertfordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 113,608 people in 1996; 137,365 people in 2025. 20.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — North Hertfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991112,355
1992112,942
1993112,767
1994113,277
1995113,757
1996113,608
1997114,226
1998115,085
1999115,284
2000115,983
2001117,051
2002117,959
2003119,148
2004120,092
2005120,757
2006121,890
2007122,974
2008124,391
2009125,269
2010126,286
2011127,494
2012128,542
2013129,460
2014131,062
2015131,662
2016133,103
2017133,629
2018133,283
2019133,195
2020133,054
2021133,583
2022134,189
2023135,580
2024136,818
2025137,365
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

North Hertfordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 23,603 people in 1996; 25,447 people in 2025. 7.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — North Hertfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199122,825
199223,026
199323,098
199423,423
199523,586
199623,603
199723,674
199823,903
199923,931
200023,953
200124,038
200224,073
200324,220
200424,376
200524,328
200624,369
200724,355
200824,429
200924,504
201024,651
201124,779
201225,045
201325,147
201425,571
201525,630
201625,934
201726,037
201825,964
201925,752
202025,557
202125,391
202225,607
202325,727
202425,673
202525,447
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

North Hertfordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 72,010 people in 1996; 83,795 people in 2025. 16.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — North Hertfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199172,232
199272,472
199372,094
199472,172
199572,313
199672,010
199772,385
199872,855
199972,955
200073,554
200174,381
200275,018
200375,774
200476,298
200576,718
200677,629
200778,436
200879,298
200979,711
201080,174
201180,853
201280,847
201381,046
201481,682
201581,776
201682,544
201782,650
201882,187
201981,920
202081,785
202182,162
202282,167
202382,966
202483,614
202583,795
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

North Hertfordshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 17,995 people in 1996; 28,123 people in 2025. 56.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — North Hertfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,298
199217,444
199317,575
199417,682
199517,858
199617,995
199718,167
199818,327
199918,398
200018,476
200118,632
200218,868
200319,154
200419,418
200519,711
200619,892
200720,183
200820,664
200921,054
201021,461
201121,862
201222,650
201323,267
201423,809
201524,256
201624,625
201724,942
201825,132
201925,523
202025,712
202126,030
202226,415
202326,887
202427,531
202528,123
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 133,210 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · North Hertfordshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh6,9565.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African3,2352.4%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,9133.7%
White116,62087.5%
Other ethnic group1,4861.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 127,114 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · North Hertfordshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White113,75589.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups3,3762.7%
Asian/Asian British6,8215.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2,4912%
Other ethnic group6710.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 116,908 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · North Hertfordshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White108,96993.2%
Mixed1,6811.4%
Asian/Asian British4,1043.5%
Black/Black British1,5191.3%
Chinese/Other6350.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 19.6% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

North Hertfordshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £12,950 per person in 1997; £31,048 per person in 2024. 139.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — North Hertfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199712,950
199813,442
199913,759
200014,825
200115,543
200215,763
200316,014
200416,321
200516,866
200617,657
200718,648
200819,074
200919,494
201019,517
201119,458
201220,290
201321,329
201422,130
201523,647
201623,723
201724,118
201824,924
201925,428
202025,305
202125,803
202226,965
202329,016
202431,048
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

North Hertfordshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 22% in 1997; 19.6% in 2024. 2.4 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — North Hertfordshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199722
199824.2
199921.6
200024.6
200125.6
200224.6
200322.8
200420.3
200520
200620.6
200721.5
200821.1
200921.7
201020.8
201119.4
201220.1
201321.8
201422.4
201524.3
201623.2
201722.4
201822.1
201920.7
202020.6
202118.1
202217.4
202318.7
202419.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

62.3%

21 March 2021 · North Hertfordshire local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

13.4%

21 March 2021 · North Hertfordshire local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

13.6%

21 March 2021 · North Hertfordshire local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.9%

21 March 2021 · North Hertfordshire local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£419,000

July 2026 · North Hertfordshire local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,434

August 2026 · North Hertfordshire local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.