Skip to content
Hertfordshire Counts — Hertfordshire, in numbers.Local help →

Three Rivers, in numbers

People and living standards: Three Rivers

Three Rivers local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Three Rivers local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 78,991 in 1991 to 96,068 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Three Rivers council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 80,438 people in 1996; 96,068 people in 2025. 19.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Three Rivers council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199178,991
199280,530
199380,836
199480,540
199580,672
199680,438
199780,960
199880,758
199982,743
200083,073
200182,905
200283,448
200383,946
200483,963
200584,305
200684,466
200785,282
200886,205
200987,096
201087,573
201187,921
201289,115
201389,814
201490,723
201591,961
201692,959
201793,075
201893,209
201993,443
202093,795
202193,934
202294,219
202395,047
202495,575
202596,068
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Three Rivers council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 16,074 people in 1996; 18,433 people in 2025. 14.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Three Rivers council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199115,583
199215,869
199316,036
199416,103
199516,140
199616,074
199716,216
199816,296
199916,916
200017,047
200117,088
200217,219
200317,333
200417,351
200517,302
200617,165
200717,177
200817,407
200917,511
201017,471
201117,573
201217,825
201317,953
201418,158
201518,427
201618,646
201718,728
201818,785
201918,809
202018,809
202118,721
202218,769
202318,717
202418,556
202518,433
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Three Rivers council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 50,948 people in 1996; 59,449 people in 2025. 16.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Three Rivers council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199150,397
199251,511
199351,569
199451,188
199551,180
199650,948
199751,280
199850,959
199952,254
200052,401
200152,103
200252,504
200352,831
200452,758
200553,139
200653,534
200754,273
200854,785
200955,299
201055,495
201155,487
201255,931
201356,117
201456,482
201557,198
201657,724
201757,664
201857,753
201957,882
202058,026
202158,206
202258,242
202358,847
202459,170
202559,449
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Three Rivers council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 13,416 people in 1996; 18,186 people in 2025. 35.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Three Rivers council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199113,011
199213,150
199313,231
199413,249
199513,352
199613,416
199713,464
199813,503
199913,573
200013,625
200113,714
200213,725
200313,782
200413,854
200513,864
200613,767
200713,832
200814,013
200914,286
201014,607
201114,861
201215,359
201315,744
201416,083
201516,336
201616,589
201716,683
201816,671
201916,752
202016,960
202117,007
202217,208
202317,483
202417,849
202518,186
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 93,772 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Three Rivers · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh14,26515.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2,2332.4%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,3903.6%
White72,31677.1%
Other ethnic group1,5681.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 87,317 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Three Rivers · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White75,29486.2%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,0022.3%
Asian/Asian British7,9939.2%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1,6101.8%
Other ethnic group4180.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 82,848 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Three Rivers · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White76,51092.3%
Mixed1,0411.3%
Asian/Asian British3,8594.7%
Black/Black British8301%
Chinese/Other6080.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 45.8% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Three Rivers council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £14,914 per person in 1997; £37,848 per person in 2024. 153.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Three Rivers council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199714,914
199815,659
199915,543
200016,629
200117,717
200217,819
200318,073
200418,654
200519,329
200620,360
200721,610
200822,080
200922,191
201022,426
201122,514
201223,361
201324,819
201425,737
201527,548
201627,296
201727,781
201828,221
201929,134
202028,427
202130,254
202232,861
202335,503
202437,848
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Three Rivers council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 40.6% in 1997; 45.8% in 2024. 5.2 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Three Rivers council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199740.6
199844.6
199937.4
200039.7
200143.2
200240.8
200338.6
200437.4
200537.5
200639
200740.8
200840.2
200938.6
201038.9
201138.2
201238.3
201341.7
201442.3
201544.8
201641.7
201741
201838.3
201938.3
202035.4
202138.5
202243.1
202345.2
202445.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

62.6%

21 March 2021 · Three Rivers local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

13.2%

21 March 2021 · Three Rivers local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

13.4%

21 March 2021 · Three Rivers local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.5%

21 March 2021 · Three Rivers local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£591,000

July 2026 · Three Rivers local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,826

August 2026 · Three Rivers local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.