Skip to content
Hertfordshire Counts — Hertfordshire, in numbers.Local help →

Welwyn Hatfield, in numbers

People and living standards: Welwyn Hatfield

Welwyn Hatfield local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Welwyn Hatfield local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 93,812 in 1991 to 121,748 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Welwyn Hatfield council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 95,579 people in 1996; 121,748 people in 2025. 27.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Welwyn Hatfield council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199193,812
199294,123
199394,495
199494,187
199595,010
199695,579
199795,432
199895,763
199996,838
200097,253
200197,550
200298,136
200399,198
2004100,470
2005103,202
2006105,096
2007106,694
2008107,442
2009108,434
2010109,630
2011110,727
2012110,684
2013111,990
2014112,166
2015113,972
2016116,637
2017117,617
2018118,365
2019119,180
2020119,806
2021119,747
2022120,571
2023122,047
2024123,051
2025121,748
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Welwyn Hatfield council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,454 people in 1996; 22,150 people in 2025. 13.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Welwyn Hatfield council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,876
199218,359
199318,752
199418,997
199519,285
199619,454
199719,438
199819,632
199919,386
200019,359
200119,180
200219,003
200318,914
200418,884
200519,094
200619,409
200719,629
200819,895
200920,076
201020,074
201120,152
201220,508
201320,756
201421,076
201521,411
201621,831
201721,970
201822,140
201922,262
202022,377
202122,427
202222,533
202322,768
202422,487
202522,150
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Welwyn Hatfield council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 60,122 people in 1996; 79,206 people in 2025. 31.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Welwyn Hatfield council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199160,843
199260,507
199360,338
199459,545
199559,877
199660,122
199759,897
199859,870
199960,986
200061,348
200161,632
200262,401
200363,567
200464,963
200567,469
200669,132
200770,602
200871,024
200971,582
201072,663
201173,539
201272,625
201373,301
201472,882
201574,328
201676,517
201777,240
201877,750
201978,154
202078,653
202178,380
202278,804
202379,762
202480,630
202579,206
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Welwyn Hatfield council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 16,003 people in 1996; 20,392 people in 2025. 27.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Welwyn Hatfield council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199115,093
199215,257
199315,405
199415,645
199515,848
199616,003
199716,097
199816,261
199916,466
200016,546
200116,738
200216,732
200316,717
200416,623
200516,639
200616,555
200716,463
200816,523
200916,776
201016,893
201117,036
201217,551
201317,933
201418,208
201518,233
201618,289
201718,407
201818,475
201918,764
202018,776
202118,940
202219,234
202319,517
202419,934
202520,392
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 119,835 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Welwyn Hatfield · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh10,5958.8%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African7,3076.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,9314.1%
White94,29878.7%
Other ethnic group2,7042.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 110,535 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Welwyn Hatfield · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White92,93684.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,7972.5%
Asian/Asian British8,7047.9%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British4,9894.5%
Other ethnic group1,1091%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 97,553 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Welwyn Hatfield · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White91,36493.7%
Mixed1,3451.4%
Asian/Asian British2,2732.3%
Black/Black British1,3401.4%
Chinese/Other1,2311.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 8.5% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Welwyn Hatfield council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £12,360 per person in 1997; £28,179 per person in 2024. 128% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Welwyn Hatfield council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199712,360
199812,799
199913,019
200013,950
200114,786
200215,192
200315,359
200415,659
200515,804
200616,331
200717,163
200817,644
200918,129
201017,994
201118,014
201218,873
201319,833
201420,767
201521,891
201621,909
201722,110
201822,491
201923,390
202022,723
202124,013
202225,505
202326,716
202428,179
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Welwyn Hatfield council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 16.5% in 1997; 8.5% in 2024. 8 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Welwyn Hatfield council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199716.5
199818.2
199915.1
200017.2
200119.5
200220.1
200317.8
200415.4
200512.4
200611.5
200711.8
200812
200913.2
201011.4
201110.6
201211.7
201313.2
201414.8
201515.1
201613.8
201712.2
201810.2
201911
20208.3
20219.9
202211.1
20239.3
20248.5
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59.6%

21 March 2021 · Welwyn Hatfield local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

15.2%

21 March 2021 · Welwyn Hatfield local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

14.3%

21 March 2021 · Welwyn Hatfield local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.8%

21 March 2021 · Welwyn Hatfield local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£449,000

July 2026 · Welwyn Hatfield local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,512

August 2026 · Welwyn Hatfield local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.