Skip to content
Hertfordshire Counts — Hertfordshire, in numbers.Local help →

Stevenage, in numbers

People and living standards: Stevenage

Stevenage local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Stevenage local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 75,697 in 1991 to 92,081 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Stevenage council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 76,276 people in 1996; 92,081 people in 2025. 20.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Stevenage council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199175,697
199275,359
199375,370
199475,513
199575,646
199676,276
199777,559
199877,832
199978,523
200079,246
200179,794
200280,110
200380,308
200480,008
200580,330
200680,352
200780,734
200881,615
200982,253
201083,007
201184,247
201285,052
201385,974
201486,719
201587,482
201688,466
201789,099
201889,310
201989,541
202089,755
202189,360
202289,592
202390,330
202491,234
202592,081
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Stevenage council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,222 people in 1996; 18,347 people in 2025. 0.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Stevenage council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,170
199217,394
199317,681
199417,906
199518,063
199618,222
199718,383
199818,351
199918,313
200018,168
200117,895
200217,650
200317,523
200417,333
200517,123
200616,881
200716,742
200816,812
200916,791
201016,940
201117,159
201217,235
201317,406
201417,528
201517,753
201617,983
201718,178
201818,278
201918,390
202018,387
202118,196
202218,241
202318,197
202418,227
202518,347
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Stevenage council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 47,925 people in 1996; 59,091 people in 2025. 23.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Stevenage council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199149,449
199248,709
199348,189
199447,853
199547,672
199647,925
199748,804
199849,003
199949,536
200050,201
200150,841
200251,305
200351,549
200451,476
200551,903
200652,227
200752,695
200853,381
200953,896
201054,348
201155,118
201255,462
201355,827
201456,250
201556,670
201657,381
201757,726
201857,848
201957,799
202057,903
202157,579
202257,465
202358,024
202458,604
202559,091
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Stevenage council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 10,129 people in 1996; 14,643 people in 2025. 44.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Stevenage council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
19919,078
19929,256
19939,500
19949,754
19959,911
199610,129
199710,372
199810,478
199910,674
200010,877
200111,058
200211,155
200311,236
200411,199
200511,304
200611,244
200711,297
200811,422
200911,566
201011,719
201111,970
201212,355
201312,741
201412,941
201513,059
201613,102
201713,195
201813,184
201913,352
202013,465
202113,585
202213,886
202314,109
202414,403
202514,643
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 89,498 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Stevenage · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh6,7007.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African4,3404.8%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,2163.6%
White74,09982.8%
Other ethnic group1,1431.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 83,957 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Stevenage · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White73,59887.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,2652.7%
Asian/Asian British4,8485.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2,8363.4%
Other ethnic group4100.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 79,715 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Stevenage · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White75,39894.6%
Mixed1,1321.4%
Asian/Asian British1,6762.1%
Black/Black British9271.2%
Chinese/Other5820.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 12.6% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Stevenage council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,984 per person in 1997; £22,681 per person in 2024. 152.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Stevenage council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,984
19989,314
19999,627
200010,154
200110,866
200211,227
200311,434
200411,828
200512,203
200612,829
200713,464
200813,640
200914,612
201014,351
201114,416
201215,103
201315,782
201416,399
201517,102
201617,418
201717,857
201818,361
201919,169
202019,645
202120,017
202220,484
202321,478
202422,681
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Stevenage council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -15.3% in 1997; -12.6% in 2024. 2.7 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Stevenage council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-15.3
1998-14
1999-14.9
2000-14.7
2001-12.2
2002-11.3
2003-12.3
2004-12.8
2005-13.2
2006-12.4
2007-12.3
2008-13.4
2009-8.7
2010-11.1
2011-11.5
2012-10.6
2013-9.9
2014-9.3
2015-10.1
2016-9.6
2017-9.4
2018-10
2019-9
2020-6.4
2021-8.4
2022-10.8
2023-12.2
2024-12.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

63.8%

21 March 2021 · Stevenage local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

18.6%

21 March 2021 · Stevenage local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

17%

21 March 2021 · Stevenage local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.7%

21 March 2021 · Stevenage local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£316,000

July 2026 · Stevenage local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,440

August 2026 · Stevenage local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.