Skip to content
Hertfordshire Counts — Hertfordshire, in numbers.Local help →

Watford, in numbers

People and living standards: Watford

Watford local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Watford local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 74,934 in 1991 to 107,658 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Watford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 77,694 people in 1996; 107,658 people in 2025. 38.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Watford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199174,934
199275,426
199374,843
199475,266
199576,150
199677,694
199778,999
199880,190
199979,971
200080,239
200180,398
200280,185
200380,644
200481,097
200582,138
200682,145
200782,899
200884,776
200986,472
201088,574
201190,653
201293,066
201395,732
201498,101
201599,449
2016100,458
2017100,957
2018101,658
2019102,172
2020102,322
2021102,507
2022103,186
2023105,214
2024106,799
2025107,658
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Watford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 16,529 people in 1996; 22,198 people in 2025. 34.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Watford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199115,324
199215,624
199315,779
199416,068
199516,308
199616,529
199716,841
199817,064
199916,666
200016,558
200116,402
200216,363
200316,386
200416,462
200516,602
200616,631
200716,726
200817,151
200917,516
201018,028
201118,693
201219,351
201320,152
201420,725
201521,134
201621,313
201721,512
201821,625
201921,572
202021,549
202121,329
202221,521
202321,953
202422,168
202522,198
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Watford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 50,931 people in 1996; 71,174 people in 2025. 39.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Watford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199149,383
199249,572
199348,908
199449,034
199549,649
199650,931
199751,946
199852,954
199952,904
200053,217
200153,424
200253,277
200353,768
200454,138
200555,056
200655,077
200755,684
200857,012
200958,129
201059,469
201160,727
201262,073
201363,694
201465,242
201566,133
201666,777
201767,012
201867,437
201967,801
202067,901
202168,196
202268,416
202369,759
202470,727
202571,174
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Watford council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 10,234 people in 1996; 14,286 people in 2025. 39.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Watford council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199110,227
199210,230
199310,156
199410,164
199510,193
199610,234
199710,212
199810,172
199910,401
200010,464
200110,572
200210,545
200310,490
200410,497
200510,480
200610,437
200710,489
200810,613
200910,827
201011,077
201111,233
201211,642
201311,886
201412,134
201512,182
201612,368
201712,433
201812,596
201912,799
202012,872
202112,982
202213,249
202313,502
202413,904
202514,286
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 102,245 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Watford · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh25,03724.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African6,4886.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,8444.7%
White62,22860.9%
Other ethnic group3,6483.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 90,301 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Watford · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White64,94671.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups3,1043.4%
Asian/Asian British16,17017.9%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British5,2295.8%
Other ethnic group8520.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 79,726 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Watford · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White68,52686%
Mixed1,6732.1%
Asian/Asian British6,5428.2%
Black/Black British2,1242.7%
Chinese/Other8611.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 3.7% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Watford council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,343 per person in 1997; £26,924 per person in 2024. 137.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Watford council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,343
199811,647
199912,124
200012,957
200113,856
200214,295
200314,538
200414,861
200515,240
200616,070
200716,893
200816,996
200917,729
201017,309
201117,187
201217,771
201318,336
201418,794
201519,772
201620,246
201720,766
201821,304
201921,947
202021,889
202122,734
202224,252
202325,297
202426,924
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Watford council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 6.9% in 1997; 3.7% in 2024. 3.2 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Watford council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19976.9
19987.6
19997.2
20008.9
200112
200213
200311.5
20049.5
20058.4
20069.7
200710.1
20087.9
200910.7
20107.2
20115.5
20125.2
20134.7
20143.9
20153.9
20165.1
20175.4
20184.4
20194.2
20204.3
20214.1
20225.6
20233.5
20243.7
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

65.3%

21 March 2021 · Watford local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

16.3%

21 March 2021 · Watford local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

15.9%

21 March 2021 · Watford local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.7%

21 March 2021 · Watford local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£404,000

July 2026 · Watford local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,829

August 2026 · Watford local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.