Skip to content
Hertfordshire Counts — Hertfordshire, in numbers.Local help →

Watford, in numbers

Projects: Watford

Watford local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

4 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.

Riverwell, south of Watford town centre

Riverwell homes and neighbourhood

Completed homes and a hospital link road provide a base for further housing and Riverwell Square construction.

Existing phases delivered; further phases progressing · evidence dated 2026-03-04

Responsible body: Watford Borough Council and Kier Property joint venture

What the source says: The new rental-housing phase had contracts and consent; its construction start was still anticipated.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Riverwell housing-phase update →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Build on the Riverwell infrastructure already delivered →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Former industrial land within Riverwell

Riverwell former industrial-land cleanup

A government grant supports removal of contamination and underground obstructions.

Grant approved January 2026; completion unverified · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Watford Borough Council

What the source says: The published summer 2026 completion date was a forecast.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Riverwell land-remediation grant →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Verify land cleanup before counting future homes →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Cherry Tree Allotments, Watford

Cherry Tree allotment extension

Former parking land beside Yeatman Court is planned for new growing plots.

Works announced; October 2026 completion forecast · evidence dated 2026-03-16

Responsible body: Watford Borough Council

What the source says: The announcement does not establish that the new plots are ready.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Cherry Tree allotment extension →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Show when new growing plots become available →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Clarendon Road and Station Road

Clarendon business-area programme

Local businesses backed a five-year programme of area improvements, promotion and collaboration.

Ballot approved; term runs April 2026–March 2031 · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Watford BID Ltd

What the source says: This was a business ballot, not a resident opinion survey. Promised investment is not verified spend.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named scheme or programme area only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; a nearby location is not evidence that a whole ward benefits.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Clarendon business-improvement ballot →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Make business-area spending visible →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

How to track delivery →